Yes, Holden is an unreliable narrator.  

An unreliable narrator is a narrator that we can’t depend on or trust. One that may not tell the whole truth. Holden is unreliable because even at the very beginning he informs us he lies a lot. He tells us the he lies profusely and without reason. He gives us the example at the beginning of chapter 3 “If I’m on my way to the store to buy a magazine, even, and someone asks me where I am going, I am liable to say I’m going to the Opera.”

                He also seems unsure of himself and is liable to say “I don’t know why I did it” or something of the sorts. Which leads us to believe that he doesn’t have much insight.

                When he is describing someone he is likely to go back and forth. He will go from saying something bad about the person to saying that that thing isn’t that bad.

Overall, Holden is a pretty unreliable narrator.




Leave a Reply.